Connecting with the AmeriCorps Community!

October 27, 2009 at 1:31 PM | Posted in AmeriCorps | Leave a comment

As you may have gathered from recent posts, the other AmeriCorps members and I recently attended the AmeriCorps launch in Richmond.  Our day was filled with ceremony and workshops, creating an engaging environment for learning and socializing with other members of the AmeriCorps community.  Personally, my favorite part of the day was lunch.  Now hold on one minute before you get too excited about my chicken fajita!  While it was very tasty, the highlight of my day was getting to socialize with people from different AmeriCorps sites, particularly members from the Loudoun Literacy Council and Escuela Bolivia.  It was interesting to discuss the different aspects of our programs and the different needs we were trying to meet in our communities.  I also enjoyed bouncing classroom and lesson planning ideas off of fellow ESOL teachers.  I walked away with some great activities that turned out to be great lessons for my classes.  I am pleased that my students, in addition to myself, were able to benefit from this year’s AmeriCorps launch. 

– Erin Andrews, AmeriCorps Instructor

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

