Smile!

July 14, 2010 at 9:48 AM | Posted in AmeriCorps, Class, ESOL, Graduations | Leave a comment

Many of us have been following the drama of the World Cup over the last couple of weeks.  We’ve all tuned in for the heartbreak, the ecstasy, the scandal, the…cephalopod.  A winner has been crowned, and a general catharsis has settled around the world.  Here at the Literacy Council of Northern Virginia, my fellow AmeriCorps members and I are also experiencing an outpour of strong emotions.

The recent spring graduation parties marked the end of my teaching experience with LCNV and the last time that I will see most of my students, some of whom have been in my classes for the entire year.  As I near the end of my service year and prepare to head back home to Charlotte, NC, I already miss working with my students and fellow volunteers.

At my last graduation, my teachers got together and presented me with a small gift.  A toothbrush.  I know that this may sound strange to the readers of this blog (and most other people), but I was touched by this little hygienic tool.  My teachers remembered that I was planning to return home and prepare to apply to dental school, and the toothbrush was a sweet way to say good luck.  I have had some wonderful experiences at LCNV: working with passionate teachers, teaching inspiring students, and now, the gift of plaque-free gums.  It just doesn’t get any better.

Thanks, again Cindy, Laurie, and Kay!  I will miss teaching with you this fall.

~Erin Andrews, AmeriCorps Instructor

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

