First Week at the Literacy Council

September 13, 2011 at 10:59 AM | Posted in AmeriCorps, ESOL, Family Learning, Tutoring, Volunteers | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

As the end of my first week and the start of another here at the Literacy Council of Northern Virginia , I am excitedly anticipating the weeks and months to come. This has been a great intro week mainly because the organization staff are the nicest and friendliest of people. I have been quite mortified by the idea of running my own classroom but their encouragement and support now has me feeling like with this staff behind me I could accomplish anything!  Adult Literacy has always been an issue close to my own heart as  I come from a family where English is not the first language. I only wish that I knew about the literacy council before, so that I could refer my own loved ones. But now I hope to change the game for others like some members of my family. Thank you guys for letting me be a part of the team!

– Setara Habib, AmeriCorps Member

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

