LCNV & IBM Partner to Host Basic Computer Skills Workshop

November 11, 2011 at 12:39 PM | Posted in AmeriCorps, Announcements, Class, Development, ESOL, Family Learning, Teaching, Tutoring, Uncategorized, Volunteers | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This recent Saturday I embarked on my first volunteer adventure outside of working with LCNV’s classroom programs. I had been excited about the Basic Computer Skills Workshop upon hearing about it months ago. Immediately, I had thought of my mother. She has been eager to use a computer for years, but never knew where or how to begin. I’d been feeling guilty about not having the time to sit down with her and teach her, but  the opportunity presented itself on  November 5, 2011.

The workshop was a fun-filled, energy driven experience, which featured representatives from IBM’s Asian Diversity Group. There were so many helpful hands available that each student had their own personal IBM or LCNV tutor. Even as I struggled with teaching my mother, a daunting task, a very helpful IBM volunteer provided assistance.

Now, I am proud to say that my mom is a citizen of the internet. We set her up with an email and Skype account. I saw that other students were joining Facebook and looking for relatives while others were watching YouTube videos and learning about searches. It was a great experience, and I’m so glad my mom and I were part of it!

Setara Habib
Americorps Instructor
Literacy Council of Northern Virginia
2855 Annandale Road
Falls Church, Va 22042
(703)237-0866 ext 112
www.LCNV.org



Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

