“The Urge to Teach Does Not Go Away”

April 22, 2015 at 1:48 PM | Posted in Destination Workforce, Student Stories | Leave a comment
Coach Fred and student Larbi

Coach Fred and student Larbi

Goodwin House Bailey’s Crossroads and the Literacy Council have a partnership in which Goodwin House staff may take English classes at their workplace. Each participant is matched with a resident coach. Timing and choice of reading material is worked out between staff member and coach. I have the pleasure of volunteering as a coach to a Goodwin House cook, father of three, from Morocco. I call him, “my friend.” He is enthusiastic and very grateful to have this on-site opportunity to improve his reading and writing.

Fred's LCNV student Larbi

Fred’s LCNV student Larbi

Our reading time is 11am to 12pm on Tuesdays. I wear a watch so that my friend will not be late for work. Recently I noticed that it was about 11:58am so I said we needed to wrap up the session. My friend replied that it was his day off but he came to read. That’s dedication!

I was a public school history teacher from 1966 to 1999 and I loved it. I retired essentially because my school system began classes at 7:20 am, making it necessary for me to get up at 5:30. Following retirement, I tutored first and second graders in reading for six years. I retired from that volunteer work in order to travel more. Teaching is somewhat like a chronic ailment. The urge to teach does not go away. This program has enabled me to become a teacher again and I love it.

– story written by LCNV volunteer and Goodwin House resident Fred

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

