Happy National Book Lovers Day!

August 9, 2017 at 10:11 AM | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Happy National Book Lovers Day! Here at LCNV, all of us care deeply about books. Our LCNV library is filled with great books for our learners, and there is nothing more exciting than seeing a learner connect with English through the power of written word.

In honor of the occasion, read LCNV learner Tyler’s essay from 2017’s Learning Gives Me Power essay book. His words illustrate the power of books, and how his life – and his community – has changed through English literacy:

“After I learned to read, I enjoyed reading library books and magazines. By reading magazines, I learned about how to fix up an old home.

Learning to read helped me to understand the community. It helped me to understand the homeless. The church asked my Sunday school class to help build some walls at the place where they were building apartments for the homeless.” – Tyler, LCNV Learner

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.