“We Help Each Other”

September 6, 2017 at 10:19 AM | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

LCNV’s classes are filled with learners and volunteers of all backgrounds, professions, and interests. With all this diversity, one quality is constant: support. Each person supports the work of others in their class. When a learner is struggling at the whiteboard to write a sentence, other learners provide hints about the correct words. If a learner is tackling a difficult concept, they can get extra help in a small group before or after class. This willingness to help each other and work together to achieve success rings true to LCNV’s core value of collaboration, celebrated by everyone, from our Board of Directors to our students.

“I need the help of others and they are helping me,” writes LCNV learner Nonna. Her 2010 essay highlights the importance of collaboration, and the good things that happen when people work together.

“How do we help each other? When people are working they are already helping others. Some build houses, others live in them. Some work at the factory where they make clothing and shoes, others wear them. People cannot live without each other. They help others after work or when they do not work.

I think that I help others as best as I can. I can tell you how often others helped me. When I got sick, my husband, my children, and my co-workers helped me so that I would get better. The doctors helped me get better. When my husband passed away, I had help from my husband’s co-workers, my children, and from my friends. And when I was alone, my daughter asked me to come live with her so that I can feel better.

Now my children and my grandchildren are helping me. I look at my grandchildren and see that they are happy and I am happy with them. They help me in my life. My children live in the U.S.A. and I live here too. I need to speak English. My teacher, Dianne, is helping me with my English. She is a volunteer. I thank her for caring about me. My neighbors speak with me sometimes. And by this they are helping me. I need the help of others and they are helping me.”

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.