Celebrating Citizenship

October 25, 2017 at 7:50 AM | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Literacy Council of Northern Virginia will be hosting a U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) Naturalization Ceremony on November 8, 2017. In anticipation of this upcoming event, this week’s blog highlights the process of becoming a U.S. citizen. LCNV learner Hawa writes about her experience with the interview process of naturalization in her 2012 essay, and the joy she felt after passing her exam. If you would like to take part in celebrating a dream realized for new U.S. citizens, click here for more information about the upcoming event.

“I got my citizenship in December 2010. When I went to the interview, I was scared about the questions. When I got there and the interviewer asked me to read and write and answer questions, I said everything I knew. Then she told me, ‘You passed!’ I celebrated inside myself. I was happy and I could not believe it! I said to myself, ‘Really? Is she joking?’

Karen, my ESL tutor back then, called to find out if I passed. She said, ‘Hawa, you passed?’ And I said, ‘Yes!’ To celebrate, I took the flag they gave me and put it on my wall. I still have it.

When something good happens, I celebrate.”

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.